Becoming a REALTOR®

The HAAR School of Real Estate has everything you need to get you started in your Real Estate career. We will be your partner for the education and support you need to help you complete your goals.


The HAAR School of Real Estate offers state approved courses (pre-license, post-license, broker license, reciprocal license and continuing education), as well as live educational events. The Huntsville Area Association of REALTORS School of Real Estate is a subsidiary of The Huntsville Area Association of REALTORS and is accredited through the state of Alabama.

The HAAR School of Real Estate offers a broad range of online classes. Our goal is to have educational offerings that provide consistency, continuity and growth that is able to support and enhance the professionalism and skills of a REALTOR throughout their entire career. Currently we also offer a number of live continuing education courses in the classroom.

If you would like more information on our school or becoming a REALTOR® visit www.HAARSchoolofRealEstate.org or email Mike Sandoval at education@valleymls.com

1. Pre-license Course
2. State License Test
Once you pass you will be given the application for Temporary Salespersons license and your blank finger print card
3. Join HAAR, AAR, NAR, and ValleyMLS.com (if applicable)
4. Attend HAAR/ValleyMLS.com Orientation
5. Post License Course
Upon completion fill our and return your Original License application form along with payment. This form can be found on the AREC website under Forms or we can send it to you.
6. Continuing Education
Every two years you will renew your license with AREC which includes completing 15 hours of Continuing Education. October 1, 2018-September 30, 2020.

 

Salesperson License

To become eligible to obtain a SALESPERSON LICENSE in Alabama, an applicant who does not hold a
current real estate license in another state must:

• Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S
• Be at least 19 years old
• Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.
• Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent
• Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
• Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.
• After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination.

Additionally, a salesperson applicant must:

-Prior to taking the state exam, successfully complete an approved 60 clock hour pre license course. Applicants have 6 months to pass the state exam after completing the course. If these deadlines are not met, the course must be retaken.
AND
• Must complete a 30 hour post license training course within the first twelve months of licensure in order to be issued an original (permanent) license. Further, the course must be completed and original license issued within the first six months in order to maintain an active license.

Broker License

To become eligible to obtain a BROKER LICENSE in Alabama, an applicant who does not hold a current real estate license in another state must:

• Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S
• Be at least 19 years old
• Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.
• Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent
• Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
• Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past
two years.
• After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the licensing examination

Additionally, a broker applicant must:

• Successfully complete an approved 60 clock hour pre license course.
• Must have held an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 months of
the 36 month period immediately preceding the date of application.

Company License

A company is defined by the Alabama Real Estate Commission as any sole proprietorship, corporation, partnership, branch office, or lawfully constituted business organization as the Legislature
may provide from time to time, which is licensed as a company under Articles 1 and 2 of this chapter.

An applicant for a company or broker license shall maintain a place of business. If the applicant for a company maintains more than one place of business in the state, they shall have a company license for each separate location or branch office.

A company license shall become invalid on the death or disability of a qualifying broker. Within 30 days after the death or disability, the corporation, or the remaining partners of the successor
partnership, if any, may designate another of the officers, members, or salespersons to apply for a
license as temporary qualifying broker.

The original fee for each company license shall be $85 per year for each year or portion of a year
remaining in the respective license period, and the renewal fee for each license shall be $85 dollars per year for each year of the license period.

Every license shall expire at midnight on September 30 of the final year of each license period. This applies to company licenses as well as salesperson and broker licenses.

Additional Licenses

If you hold an original current license in another state, you may obtain a RECIPROCAL LICENSE by doing the following:


• Complete a six‐hour course in Alabama real estate law as specified in Rule 790‐X‐1‐.18 and take and pass the corresponding Alabama portion of the licensing examination
• Submit with the application an official “Certificate of Licensure” form (license history) showing you hold a current license in another state. This certification can be obtained from the Real Estate Commission Office in that state. This certification must have been issued within 120 days of our receipt of your reciprocal license application. Exam candidates will receive an application for licensure at the test centers upon passage of the exam.
• All reciprocal applicants should follow these links and thoroughly read Section 34‐27‐32(b)(1) and Rule 790‐X‐1‐.18.

Pre License Course – $299-$329

State License Test – $75 (each time)

Temp. Licensing Fees – $245 Total
$150 License Fee, $25 Criminal Records Search, $30 Research/Education, $30 Recovery Fund Fee,
$10 Fingerprints

Association & ValleyMLS.com– $750 one time application fee (HAAR, AAR and ValleyMLS.com)

$472 paid annually to HAAR, AAR and NAR in January

$150/Quarterly for ValleyMLS.com service

Note: If you join a company that is a member or HAAR and ValleyMLS.com then you will have to pay dues.

Also, in order to join HAAR you must also join AAR and NAR. You cannot just join one of them. We have a 3 way agreement.

Lockboxes – $105 each

Electronic Keys (to open lockboxes) – $50 activation fee (or Active Key is $70 activation fee)

$268/year Supra Active Key or $20-30/monthly (depending on which version) you can install the free app and use your smart phone as your key

Post Licensing Classes – $169

Original Licensing Fees – $170 issued between 10/1/2016 and 9/30/2017 or $85 issued between 10/1/2017 and 9/30/2018

Total Startup Investment – $2,800

Additional things to consider: Business cards, advertising, insurance, etc. There are not many businesses that you can start for that amount of money!

*Please note these costs are an estimate and are based off of the HAAR School of Real Estate and the State of Alabama. These numbers are approximate and are subject to change (last updated 5/2017)